Skip to content

Photo Mojo!

July 22, 2008

This week I had my photo shoot with Troy Hansen!

Troy and I met for a coffee at Watt, by the Brisbane River, which helped me feel more as though I was hanging out with a friend than having my photo taken! Seems to be that either we prefer to be in front of the camera or behind it…

We then scouted around the gorgeous heritage building that is the Brisbane Powerhouse for a backdrop with an urban feel. Seemed to be a busy morning as there were a few photographers shooting on location there. Troy found a cool and quiet spot with textured walls and stacked wooden crates which became our ‘studio’ for the following hour. It was interesting to have professional photos taken and Troy really made it seem easy.

These photos will mostly be used as publicity shots and on my website (coming soon!).

On the research front, I’m focusing on materials first and then manufacturers. I’m still leaning towards using natural materials for the wallpaper and textile substrates, considering VOC emissions, as opposed to recycled plastics.

In my research I discovered O Ecotextiles share the same ‘cradle to cradle’ philosophy as McDonough & Braungart (mentioned in my previous blog). They are described on their site as “two sisters on a mission, who, in 2004 began a worldwide search for manufacturing partners interested in creating no-impact, perfectly safe, incredibly luxurious fabrics”. They work back with local communities in different countries to produce truly ethical fabrics. I find this commitment to every part of the ‘food chain’ truly inspiring and hope to find the same level of solutions to my production questions!

Here, closer to my home Down Under is Bird Textiles. Designer, Rachel Bending, has focused her priorities on “running a climate neutral business pioneering sustainable design”. Bird Textiles hand print using water based inks on organic and/or locally sourced fabrics in their solar powered studio!

More research is calling – truly a time consuming task, but absolutely fascinating!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

