Skip to content

Repeat Patterns

September 8, 2008

This week has been largely spent in the studio working on the repeat patterns and colourways for the ranges.

As I don’t want to create a ‘spoiler’ for when the work is launched, I’m keeping the designs under wraps for a bit, but this doesn’t mean I won’t talk about them!

I’m working up three different images as base motifs:

  • A single motif in full drop repeat and in two colours – whilst the motif is organic/floral the diagonal checkerboard pattern creates a very graphic effect. Not for the feint-hearted.
  • Designs from my show, Acid Weave, at Craft Victoria in 2002 – as these were created as placement prints on paper, I have to rework the designs considerably for them to translate into repeat. This is challenging as the images are quite intricate and I don’t want to lose that depth ‘in translation’. I’d like to take these works further as their story is still relevant and important to me.
  • Mille Fleur (meaning: 1000 flowers) – this is a type of pattern that was common in Medieval tapestries and features lots of small plants, often showing their root system. Frequently woven on a dark background these motifs really sing. In my favourite suite of tapestries, The Lady and the Unicorn, the mille fleur are woven on a luminous red ground.

In all cases, the palette is a combination of vibrant, eye-popping colours mixed back with neutral shades.

It never ceases to amaze me how many effects are possible from a single motif, by simply changing the colour palette and motif emphasis. After a lot of experimentation, you have to start to pull back and cull!

More designing this week. I’m hoping to begin prototyping next month!

L to R: Le Départ pour la chasse from La Vie Seigneuriale and Le goût from La Dame et la licorne

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

