Skip to content

Opportunities…

February 16, 2009

I would like to share some great opportunities that have opened up in the past couple of weeks…

In September last year, I posted about Design in Brisbane. I mentioned Pecha Kucha, a design presentation format (20 slides, 20 seconds per slide), pioneered by Klein Dytham Architecture. It is patented to keep the presentations concise, inspiring, interesting and to the point and provides a relaxed forum for designers to present and showcase their work, skills and ideas. Last Wednesday I attended the first installment for 2009 at the Brisbane Powerhouse. Again, it was another electric evening with much talent on display. I found myself thinking how lucky I was to be able to engage in an event like this. Anyway, exciting news… I have been asked to present my project at Pecha Kucha on June 3. Keep an eye out closer to the date for a reminder.

Speaking about presenting, recently I was contacted by Noosa Regional Gallery Director, Christine Ballinger, to submit work for consideration as part of an exhibition to be held at the gallery in September. The working title is ‘Flora’ and I will be submitting the four framed digital prints on archival Torchon paper that were shown at Nelson Molloy’s Ann Street store in December 2008. These were working ideas for my current Damask series and sit very neatly within the theme of flora. I’ll let you know the outcome of my submission!

Lastly, I have had the pleasure of being contacted by a student at the University of Southern Queensland in Toowoomba. Kerry Zerner, who is one of the Industry Experts closely following my project, recommended Joanna Kambourian contact me regarding her Honours project. Joanna is a fresh, new artist emerging through the ranks with a keen focus on printed work for paper, textiles and mixed media. She uses traditional Armenian textile patterns from her ancestral past to position her own (hi)story within an Australia context. It is through this notion of exploring ideas of travel, belonging and notions of home that we have made our connection. We will be meeting in early March to discuss our work and the possibility of collaborating in the future. To follow Joanna’s current work, visit her blog.

On Thursday I will be attending the Queensland Design Strategy 2020 launch at Living Edge in Brisbane. The QDS “represents the first step towards building a design culture in Queensland.” The report states “…it highlights the role of design in creating competitive economies and examines ways to recognise, promote and advance the value of design in Queensland… through the four themes of: Organise, Focus, Demonstrate and Educate.” This is great news for Queensland! Guest speakers include: Laura Demasi, Trends and Strategy Director, The Cool HunterJuli Grbac, Fashion Designer; and Trent Jansen, 2008 Winner Bombay Sapphire Design Discovery Award.

Meanwhile, prototyping is ticking along. I should have more news to share with you very soon!



One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. Flora « KT Doyle

Leave a Reply

