Skip to content

3D Modelling

October 5, 2009

This past week has been crucial in terms of nailing the major component for my UAP Mentorship Residency project…

With weeks of historical research, concept development, site and client considerations under my belt, I bought some plasticine and took up the challenge of ‘feeling out the form’ through its materiality. I’m used to working from a pattern, template or drawing, however, this proved interesting for a number of reasons.

Creating in this way, I can see the resemblance to draping fabric over a tailor’s mannequin in order to work a dress, shirt or jacket into it’s form by process of manipulation – a pin here, a tuck there a cut here etc. It took me back to my original degree in Fine Art, 20 years ago, when I majored in ceramics and would often ‘play’ directly with clay and find the form within the material.

It reminded me that the material strongly dictates what it will let you do. By that I mean certain fabrics can only be manipulated in certain ways. You can’t force chiffon when sewing it. You have to let it slip through the feet of the sewing machine with a needle that’s the correct gauge and hands that are gentle otherwise it will pucker or tear. Your role becomes one of guide, not of master.

When working in this way, it’s important to document at each step and take stock of where these three-dimensional drawings are going. This gives you a good sense of development and also, evidence of what was working earlier if you’ve ‘gone too far’! Armed with leather gloves and snips I continued to experiment in other media (see photos below), bending, twisting and pushing the limits of these materials, while reminding myself about the importance of remaining to true to my concept.

I worked with Amanda (Lead Designer on my project) and Luke (3D Visualisation Designer) at UAP to get a sense of the site… virtually. Luke had already recreated the site on the computer from photos I had previously taken and then began rendering my 3D models. It was amazing to see this transformation take place before me. These renders really do give a sense of how the space will look by bringing together lighting, shadow, depth and perspective.

Now we start to lock down some of the finer details… We’re in the thick of it now!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

