Skip to content

Artist Talk – All Hallows’ School

April 27, 2010

I’m grateful to have been invited to speak to some of the senior students at All Hallows’ School this week.

As part of their art elective, the students get to try their hands at lots of different mediums and create some very interesting projects. They are currently working on designs for repeat print as wallpaper, wrapping paper, on pre-existing homewares items and to fashion into garments.

I spoke about my practice, focusing on the Making Place: Wallpaper & Textiles project I undertook over 12 months, which saw the creation of my first range of sustainable wallpaper and textiles, all designed and made in Australia.

We talked about how various elements come into play when designing and how technical limitations impact on the resulting work. We also discussed how important it is to know what you’re designing for from the outset: will it be viewed only from a distance, or up close, from all directions or only one. It was important for me to mention they way I base my work on an idea, a concept or story I want to communicate.

The students are going to visit the Brisbane-based print studio of Thea & Sami, which should also help bring them a step closer to understanding more about designing for repeat and prove really inspiring too!

Many thanks to Christine Gauci for inviting me to speak… and good luck girls! I look forward to seeing the final results!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2010 12:43 PM

    ohhhh, i didn’t know you were an all hallows’ girl! L

    • May 3, 2010 9:20 AM

      I’m not! But with the fantastic art program they have, I wish I had have been 😉

Trackbacks

  1. Artist Talks « KT Doyle

Leave a Reply

