Skip to content

DESIGN SPOT – Refound

May 24, 2010

As I am starting to meet some really great interior designers, architects and interior decorators as part of promoting my Falling Leaves collection of Australian designed and made commercial quality, sustainable textiles and wallpaper, I thought I’d start a regular column, DESIGN SPOT, where I feature their practices as part of a synergistic approach to supporting and nurturing our industry.

Today, I’d like to introduce Sally Stent, Interior Designer and Director of Refound by way of a few quick questions…

What services does Refound offer?
We are currently designing interiors for energy and health conscious residences around the Currumbin end of the Gold Coast.

Describe your background and what led you to starting your business?
I studied at uni in Brisbane and then travelled for long periods of time, dabbling with my art practice and worked with recycled materials. I met some great people working on the same wavelength and found a market for what I love to do.

How did you come up with your business name?
It was taken from an exhibition I had in West End, Brisbane. I lino print onto recycled timber and found objects… trying to bring plastic coated timbers back to life.

What kinds of projects are you working?
Renovations and new residences using largely recycled and local products/fixtures/materials.

What are the most important things for you to communicate through your designs?
Your house should improve with age and imperfections.

Are there any specific design influences in your work or do you have a signature style?
I love reading about the ancient Japanese art style of Wabi Sabi, also known as ‘beauty through age and imperfection’.

Is there anything else you’d like us to know?
I designed and helped build a very organic beauty centre in a Hundertwasser hotel in Blumau, Austria, just after uni. A little crazy! Oh, and I worked on the exhibition design for the Picasso and Warhol exhibitions at GoMA!

How can we contact you?
Contact me by email at sally@refound.com or at my office at The Ecovillage!

Looking forward to seeing more of your exciting projects as they unfold Sally!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

