Skip to content

Bent Metal by Jane Bowring at Ari Jewellery

July 28, 2010

Unfortunately, I missed the opening of Jane Bowring‘s latest show, Bent Metal, at Ari Jewellery, but lucky for me, I stopped by today!

This is a strong show with a unique identity. Jane has created bold, yet simple forms in both her sculptural vessels and jewellery pieces that marry craft, tradition and the unexpected. Her ‘knitted’ metal work refers to her own personal history and family connections and she manages to create contemporary work that retains a rich history.

If you are in Brisbane, make a trip to Ari Jewellery. If not, contact Jane to arrange to see her work!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Soufïa Bensaïd permalink
    July 28, 2010 1:35 PM

    dear kt doyle. I’m soufïa Bensaïd, interdisciplinary artist living in montreal. I’m building a blog on wordpress and found finally yours which is amazing, clear, nice and joyful. would you share the model you used on wordpress that offers that structure ?
    joy and best wishes
    soufïa

    • July 28, 2010 4:28 PM

      Hi Soufïa! I’ve used the WordPress Vigilance template for this blog, however, my web designer at Designfront customized it for me. I haven’t bought the upgrade CSS option from WordPress. My blog is still free!

  2. July 31, 2010 8:23 AM

    Really enjoying your blog KT. Jane’s work is just breathtaking, isn’t it? I haven’t had a chance to toddle up to Ari’s yet (even though I live just down the road!) but I must. Thanks for the reminder 🙂 Kx

    • July 31, 2010 9:54 AM

      Thanks for the feedback Kylie! And yes, definitely pop in to see Jane’s work while it’s still there… I really like your work and your blog shows some interesting references. Check out Kylie’s blog here.

Trackbacks

  1. DESIGN SPOT – Ari Jewellery « KT Doyle

Leave a Reply

