Skip to content

DESIGN SPOT – Troy Hansen

August 10, 2010

This week I’d like to welcome the naturally talented photographer, Troy Hansen to DESIGN SPOT. I’ve worked with Troy for the past four years and he is one of the nicest guys you’ll meet in this biz. He’s pretty modest too, which leads me to telling you the British Professional Photographers Association awarded him International Photographer of the Year 2007 and International Wedding Photographer of the Year 2007. Now that’s a mean feat, especially for a newcomer to the industry! Read on to learn more about Troy and his work…

What services do you offer?

I try to keep my work life as dynamic and diverse as possible… I don’t really like pigeon holes. If you have something you would like photographed give me a call!

Describe your background and what led you to starting your business?

I was working in pre-press as a graphic designer for about 6 years and got a bit tired of sitting in front of a computer screen all day. I was given an opportunity to work for one of the big name wedding studios here in Brisbane and thought that would be a great place to start developing my photographic skills, so I jumped at the chance. I worked at this studio for two and a half years and shot over 150 weddings and countless portrait sittings. This enabled me to gain an amazing amount of experience in a very short space of time.

How did you come up with your business name?

Mmm… I think we need to thank mum & dad for that one…

What kinds of projects are you working?

Most of my work these days seems to be more commercial. Anything from hotels to fashion.

What are the most important things for you to communicate through your work?

I really try to evoke an emotional response from my photographs. The world is awash with images and ‘photographers’, so in order to stand out from the crowd I try to create a bond between the image and the viewer.

Are there any specific influences in your work or do you have a signature style?

I’m a big fan of using the elements around me, whether it is a chair in a fashion shoot or a great leading line outside a building. Great design is all around us, I try to use it to enhance my own work. Not sure if I have a style… yet.

Is there anything else you think you’d like mentioned?

A big thank you to everyone who has taken the time to read this little blog entry. Hope you like the photographs. Cheers, T…

How can we contact you?

By mobile: 0404 021 875, email: troy@troyhansen.com.au, or through my website.

Thanks Troy for telling us a bit about you. Looking forward to working with you again soon and seeing what other projects you have coming on the books to see out 2010! And, thanks for sharing with us your beautiful photographs…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2010 10:35 AM

    What beautiful photos Troy! Thanks for sharing KT 🙂

    • August 10, 2010 4:34 PM

      My pleasure Emma! Troy’s a bit of a star, isn’t he just! 😉

Leave a Reply

