Skip to content

DESIGN SPOT – Nicola Moss

August 18, 2010

Welcome to DESIGN SPOT, artist Nicola Moss. Even though I’ve known of Nicola’s work for several years I finally met her recently when she agreed to discuss her ground plane public artwork ‘Flourish‘ as part of my research into sandblasting for my public art commission for the Alice at Edward project. Her advice has been really helpful and her experience with her practice is evident in her professional conduct and of course, the resolution of her work. Let’s hear a little bit about Nicola…

What services do you offer?

My visual art practice ranges from site specific research and observation, through concept development and design, to artwork creation for exhibition projects and integrated public art commissions.

Describe your background and what led you to starting your business?

Art has been a constant throughout my life. My current full time professional art practice is the culmination of twenty years development, refinement and focus. I find it hard to separate life and art these days, it is how I see and who I am.

What kinds of projects are you working?

Current projects include the design of an integrated public artwork for the new Gold Coast University Hospital. Solo and group exhibitions during 2010 in Queensland (Redland Art Gallery), New South Wales (Goulburn Regional Art Gallery) and Victoria (SALT Contemporary Art Gallery). Most recently the development of a community engagement and research based exhibit.

What are the most important things for you to communicate through your work?

We are all part of a larger ecological web of life, where each action we take in our environment returns in some way. I find the diversity of form that life takes fascinating, something to be valued and respected.

Are there any specific influences in your work or do you have a signature style?

I have developed a unique style which incorporates techniques used in printmaking and painting, with a personal visual language that interprets the natural environment.

Is there anything else you think you’d like mentioned?

Artists can connect information from many sources to present ideas and knowledge in a visual language. Engagement with viewers is one of the most rewarding aspects of my practice.

How can we contact you?

Email: nicola.moss@bigpond.com, My website or My blog

Thanks Nicola! Definitely stop in to Nicola’s blog for interesting insights, inspiration and details on her projects!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

