Skip to content

DESIGN SPOT – Learn 2 Screenprint

September 2, 2010

Today, DESIGN SPOT catches up with Laura Day, Director of Learn to Screen-Print. Now based in Melbourne, I met Laura a couple of years ago when she was living in Brisbane and joined myself and a few other creatives for monthly ‘get-togethers’ where we would discuss our projects and practices and provide support. Working in isolation can be tough and sometimes the critique of others is necessary to move things along. These sessions definitely provided that and it was great to have the fresh views of Laura before she flew south! An artist and designer in her own right, Laura now shares her love of screen-printing with her own students. Read on for information on how you can get involved with the screen-printing revolution…

What services do you offer?

I am a freelance graphic designer and visual artist available for commissions. I also am the Director of the Learn to Screen-Print Studio where I hold regular classes where students can attend one-day intensive screen-printing classes in Melbourne.

Describe your background and what led you to starting your business?

I have had nine years of training in art and design, starting in high school where I attended private art tuition for four years. I went on to complete a Diploma of Visual Art as well as a Bachelor of Design (communication design and printmaking majors) at university.

How did you come up with your business name?

Quite simply by describing exactly what I offer to my customers!

What kinds of projects are you working?

Apart from holding my regular screen-printing classes, I also sell my screen-printed products at market stalls. There are a few other cool projects that I have on the cards for this year including: developing a range of children’s art smocks and library bags, running screen-printing demonstrations at local high schools and producing some new artwork for exhibition. I am also currently about to start the NEIS program (New Enterprise Business Scheme), which I am really excited about because I get to write a proper business plan through the business course.

What are the most important things for you to communicate through your designs?

My artwork is a representation of my true passion for pattern, texture, printmaking and illustration. Most of all I wish for it to reflect the fun and true satisfaction I get from creating it…

Are there any specific design influences in your work or do you have a signature style?

Three major artistic influences for me would most defiantly be: William Morris, Florence Broadhurst and Andy Warhol. Also Melbourne stencil and graffiti artists inspire me as well as a lot of emerging contemporary artists and illustrators.

Is there anything else you think you’d like mentioned?

Keep checking my blog and Facebook for studio and market stall updates, and lots of inspiration to keep being creative! I am tossing up on having an open studio day by the end of the year with free demonstrations and a yard sale of other artists’ crafty goods – so keep an eye out!

How can we contact you?

Email: learn2screenprint@gmail.com, mobile: +61 7 405 469 296, the Learn to Screen-Print website, or my portfolio website where you can view my own work and enquire about commissions. Learn to Screen-Print even has its own Facebook page, so drop in and say hi!

Thanks for letting us know what you offer Laura and what you’ve got in store later this year…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2010 8:13 AM

    I recently attended Laura’s beginners screenprinting class. She is enthusiastic, full of ideas and a great teacher. I learnt alot and will definitely be going back to the next level.

    • September 7, 2010 8:47 AM

      Thanks for the lovely feedback on Laura’s workshops Charmaine. Sound like you’re learning a lot and having a great time while you’re at it!

Leave a Reply

