Skip to content

Designer Rugs – Evolve Awards 2010 – Entry

September 24, 2010

Over 850 designs were submitted from Australia and New Zealand into the Designer Rugs Evolve Awards. This is a design competition open to architects, interior designers and interior design industry professionals, with the final six winning designs being made into an edition of 30 rugs, forming part of the Designer Rugs’ ID COLLECTION 2010/2011. The finalists will also be in the running for more than $20,000 in prizes, including a trip to Milan Salone de Mobile 2011.

The judging was conducted by Eli Tal, Sibella Court, Matthew Sheargold, Yosi Tal, Stephen Ormandy and Shareen Joel, with the designers names remaining anonymous, allowing the judges to focus on submitted designs, not the creator.

The Top 25 semi-finalists’ designs have been placed on the Designer Rugs website, and the six finalists will be announced in October/November 2010.

You can vote for your favourite rug design in the People’s Choice Award, with one lucky voter, who selects the winner of the People’s Choice Award, going into the draw to win $1,000 worth of prizes.

I wanted to share with you my entries inspired by the research I have been conducting on Walter Hill and the Brisbane City Botanic Gardens. They didn’t make it into the semi-final shortlist, however, I really enjoyed the process of translating the designs into rug format. I hope you like them!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2010 11:39 AM

    Wow KT, what a really diverse range of colour schemes and botany abound! Gee, the Cabbage Palm looks really intricate.

    • September 24, 2010 11:45 AM

      Thanks Kent! I’m really enjoying the Botanica project. There is such a wealth of inspiration in the research. Congratulations on your design being accepted into the Evolve Awards! I love it!

  2. September 30, 2010 10:49 AM

    KT Doyle, you are a true source of inspiration for everyone who comes into contact with your work.

    • September 30, 2010 11:13 AM

      Thanks Mark! That is a lovely thing to say. Ditto right back!

  3. October 1, 2010 7:11 PM

    Good luck in the comp KT, I think your on a winner!!! xo

  4. October 1, 2010 7:15 PM

    Oh doah! Just clicked to vote for you, realizing you’re not there! Well! 😦
    How embarrassing. Sorry chicky, missed that bit! lol
    I think that they are so vibrant and unique, I can really imagine them in my penthouse, can I please have one of each. I will be in touch via email with the full order.

    • October 2, 2010 11:40 AM

      LOL Catherine! No worries! I’m excited about them too, even if they weren’t shortlisted 😉

  5. October 7, 2010 6:31 AM

    I have to admit I had never seen such amazing patterns. They are all very beautiful. My favorite would definitely be CALADIUM 1.

    • October 7, 2010 12:11 PM

      Thank you for your lovely feedback and all the way from California in the USA!

Leave a Reply

