Skip to content

JEANBAG™ – 45kg of recycled denim jeans

June 17, 2013

JEANBAG™ 45kg of denim jeans

I’m so excited! Last week I picked up my first bale of pre-loved denim jeans from the Endeavour Foundation for JEANBAG™ and this is what 45kg looks like…

At Endeavour’s facility, they run through a nice little process to get my order ready. First they wash and custom sort my order (to include only denim jeans and only 100% cotton denim), then compress and wrap it into a tiny little package for transport. I was surprised to find that 45kgs of compressed denim fits so easily into the boot of my hatchback. Its size is deceptive though as it weighs a ton!

The most important aspect of the custom sort for JEANBAG™ is to obtain 100% cotton denim. It can’t include any elastaine or spandex or polyester, typically used in stretch jeans. Stretch fabric will pull out of shape and won’t be nearly as hardwearing and JEANBAG™ needs to be built to go the distance, just like your favourite pair of jeans.

So, now I’ve sourced my zippers, denim thread and denim… Next on the list is the lining fabric and labels…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2013 10:22 PM

    You have a wonderful blog. Thank you for sharing your knowledge. keep it up.

    • June 21, 2013 9:54 AM

      Thanks for your support Denim Jeans! I really appreciate your comment. Have a great day!

Leave a comment