Skip to content

JEANBAG™ – The coolest beanbag made from denim jeans

May 6, 2013

JEANBAG™ by KT Doyle

JEANBAG™ is my entry in the Brisbane City Council’s Tip Shop Art Competition now on show at the Brisbane Square Library.

18 artists were selected to develop artworks from recycled furniture, home wares and textiles found at Brisbane’s Tip Shops for a competition designed to bring awareness to recycling by using a little creativity to breathe new life into everyday items and help divert tonnes of waste from landfill. Something I am passionate about!

I decided to let inspiration hit me on my visit to Brisbane’s two Tip Shops and see what materials were available. During the week the Tip Shops are topped up with all sorts of amazing treasure from the key refuse centres. Stuff that is seriously too good to throw into landfill and you never know what you’re going to find!

I wanted to use my design skills and textile knowledge to create something that could live on well after the competition and when I saw a pile of pre-loved and well-worn denim jeans, I immediately gravitated to them. There’s something about denim that’s so familiar and nostalgic. Almost everyone has a pair of jeans…

For this project, like any other project, I had a budget and timeframe to consider, but I decided to give myself an extra parameter. I thought it would be great fun if people could interact with my piece. Use it. Experience it…

I thought how jeans are relaxed, cool and comfortable, just like the beanbag. Pairing denim with the beanbag seemed like a totally natural fit. And then, as if I’d asked for it, the universe provided an entire suite of beanbag furniture for $15 at the Geebung Tip Shop, so I was also able to recycle my beanbag filling!

As much fun as it has been to create JEANBAG™ for this competition, the most amazing part is that I am now developing an entire business around transforming discarded jeans into a range of well-designed products for the home. I’m so excited, I could burst! So, stay tuned as I work hard to bring JEANBAG™ to you.

Meanwhile, if you’re in Brisbane, you can visit the exhibition and see the amazing works by all the artists. Details below. Online voting for your favourite piece will open shortly so, follow along and I’ll bring you all that information soon.

Details
Exhibition Title: Tip Shop Art Competition 2013
Exhibition Dates: 1 May – 30 June 2013
Location: Ground Floor and Level 2, Brisbane Square Library, 266 George St, Brisbane Queensland 4000
Opening Hours: Mon-Thu 9am-6pm, Fri 9am-7pm, Sat+Sun 10am-3pm
For more information visit the Brisbane City Council website online
Photography by Troy Hansen and styling by Tahn Scoon

Leave a comment